#blr2mysore (Twin City Relay)

IMG_0380A few weeks ago I was lucky enough to be asked to join an ALL Women’s Relay Team ( yup Wonder Women we are!)  who have taken on the challenge to run 120km from Bangalore to Mysore!!

There are zillion reasons why I didn’t think I would make the cut, but I threw away my doubts and jumped right in without too much thinking. And here I am a few days away from the relay and now I’m getting pretty damn nervous.

The first edition of the Twin City Relay is happening at Namma Bengaluru. The challenge is big, the distance is long and the team effort is massive – 120km is no easy task. The flag off  on 10th June at 7:00 PM from Decathlon,

IMG_0361
Media Attention

Mysore Road and conclude on 11th June 2016 9:00 AM in Chamundi Vihar Stadium Mysore via Bangalore-Mysore Highway. While it sounds intense, the organizers have made it sound like a real piece of cake with 24 hydration stations, a convoy minding the runners on the highway, rest stops, food and basically handled all the logistics. (It gives me the feel of the Hood to Coast epic relay organized in the US every year)

 

IMG_0367
My team: Saloni, Gayathri, Sunaina, Lavanya, Sapna, Deepika, Namrata, Heena, Sangamitra, Geeta, Ajantha

What really caught my fancy was that our Wonder Women Team promotes running amongst women anytime and anywhere. While women don’t often get the liberty of running outdoors and late evenings (in India) this felt like a great opportunity to be treated as equals.

 

Working together as a 12 member team, sorting out lap details and weighing all our strengths and weaknesses is whole new ball game when compared to solo running at a race/marathon.

So good luck to us girls and all the other participants and organizers. I am truly proud to be associated with such an iconic event and team. I hope the success of it ensures that more of this stuff happens in my city & country.

 

c649cdd7b454496e8d7de911ebcaa8edThanks to my amazing team, our captain Saloni,  Karthik, Jagadish and Vikram who have all worked together to get us set for the race! Now To The Finish Line!!!! 

Leave a Reply

