Mom, Marathoner & More

Is it possible to manage crazy busy life schedules and daily training programs? Sonali an ace marathon runner tells us how she does it all. And the best part is that she never stops smiling!

12514018_1136393613046306_6063721134984802440_o‘Who the hell runs 5k?’ I said to myself, running out breath on the pavements of Mumbai while running the majja run in SCMM 2006.

2007, I got married and 2010 I had my baby Sophie. Things were on auto-pilot when I realized that my hubby Sujoy was ballooning out of proportions. His health was  headed South and a friend recommended that he start running to fix his health. We both joined Runner’s high in 2012. He quit after the first day! I kept training and within a month, I placed myself amongst the top 10 runners in Pinkathon. That got me hooked!

My serious running started in March 2013 when I enrolled for TCS 10k. And I have never looked back since.  It’s been three years and I am still in love with running

10410575_10153160990942036_2621492590920372796_n
Super cute family 🙂

Is it possible? Yes, it is. However, it comes with a heavy price-tag. I started running to improve my health and also to set an example for my daughter. Both my husband and I decided that we will not push our daughter to do things. Instead, we will set a baseline of behaviors for our daughter so that it becomes ‘normal’ for her. For example, running and workout will be a baseline for her. She would take it as ‘Normal’. We both eat lots of vegetables, proteins and she loves vegetables and proteins because it is ‘Normal’.

I also wanted to do something for myself. I wanted to do at least 1 marathon. Which I did.

12565344_10153903120884846_7573255702523640867_n
Supermom after the 42km @ SCMM 2016

During the training period, we split roles and responsibilities between me and my hubby. It was difficult, but we fine tuned it and efficiency set in. That way we both did not get overwhelmed. There were and still are a lot of sacrifices. We don’t stay up late in the night for any parties or get together. We both wake up at ungodly hours to train. We eat healthy and desi food which for most people can be quite boring. We may not be the top-notch in parenthood, job and even running. However, we know we are better than what we started off as. We don’t know if our daughter will turn out fine or not. We are focusing on the process and letting the outcome take care of itself. It is simple, but not easy.

Can you share some tips on planning a running schedule? 

  1. Join a group. The camaraderie, the help, the push, etc will help you improve.

    marathon group pic
    Sonali’s Running Buddies
  2. Understand yourself. Don’t jump into running thinking of doing a 10k in under 60 minutes. You may or may not be able to do it. However, running with an unrealistic goal might lead to injuries. Usually in a running group, a time trial is done to check your current level of running fitness. Data from this time trial will help you plan your major runs.
  3. A running plan should have at least 2 of the 3 running types: Speed intervals, Tempo runs and Long endurance runs.
  4. Have a strong 10K before you take a serious 21K. Have a strong 21K before you take up 42K. For me, a strong 10K is when your time is sub 60. A strong 21K is sub 2:15.
  5. For 10K, the training should be 8 weeks, for 21K the training should be 16 weeks long and for 42K, the training should be 24 weeks long. These are recommendations for newbies. Your coach may have other ideas.
  6. Strength train 2 days a week.
  7. Recover after each run. Get some tissue work done either using a foam roller or a deep tissue massage. Use the RICE approach – Rest, Ice, Compression, Elevation.
  8. Enjoy the run.

Sonali Sahoo is a real inspiration. Electronics engineer by education, Wealth manager by profession and Entrepreneur by passion. She runs a company called MyInsight ( FB –https://goo.gl/9rOpyB) that offers nutrition solutions to top level management, housewives and older women who find training centers restrictive to them. Adding to her already busy life she is also studying to be a certified Strength and Conditioning Coach. You can connect with her on myinsightnutrition@gmail.com.

design-300x300

Leave a Reply

